History shamelessly stolen from another report found on google…
“The hospital opened in September 1869 as Leicester Borough Lunatic Asylum, though its name was changed to mental hospital in 1912 and Towers Hospital early in 1947.
“We know the site has had a rich history. In the late 1920s, for example, there were 38 ex-servicemen among the 944 patients.
“By the 1940s, numbers had climbed above 1,200 and, at the outbreak of the Second World War, overcrowding was made worse when three of the villas on the site were evacuated to make space for a wartime emergency hospital.